Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Calico corn?????

+3
hudsy13
Tony W
Tan
7 posters

:: Animal Chat :: Snakes :: Corns

Go down

Calico corn????? Empty Calico corn?????

Post by Tan Tue May 11, 2010 9:57 pm

Ok, so some of you will know this snake and her history, others won't and for this reason along with the fact I'm so damn curious about her (have been discussing her with another member lately also), I am asking for opinions on what you all think she is.

So far what we know is she is a normal female with some not so normal markings. It was suspected in the past and suggested by some of the known big corn experts she was a Calico after viewing her photographs but many have disagreed with this and suggested she is more like a frosted. Although I am no expert she is unlike any frosted I have seen AND she has acquired more 'frosting' after shedding. Should this be the case in her 5th year give or take if she is a frosted?

She was bred a few years back, layed 10 eggs, 9 hatched and all bar one of the hatchlings died. Apparently they where all weaker then you would expect, problematic feeders, all required intervention and subsequently 8/9 died. The owner at the time told me she thought due to her genetics the babies were weak so she wasn't worth breeding again. What I find fascinating about it all was the survivor was showing white coming in after it shed but unlike a frosted, again I'm going on what I was told and not experience here. I did see and hold this baby myself and it was looking like mum in my eyes. Actually I would love to know where that baby is, to see it now as it's been almost 1 1/2 yrs on so should be interesting to follow up.

The Rat snake foundation suggested the following

The (continual) depigmentation is a process that is accompanied by the appearance of blisters and lesions .. a result of an autoimmune process where the snake rejects it's own pigment ..